Your Glass

Psalm 23 – “The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.”

I was listening to the radio yesterday. It was “Thankful Thursday”. One lady called in to tell what she was thankful for and the radio person commented that she sounded like a “glass is half full” kind of person. She responded, “No, not really. I just know that the glass can be refilled.” I loved that!

Society wants to put us into two categories – optimist or pessimist. But I agree with this woman, I think there is a third category that never really dawned on me until yesterday – a follower of Christ. Now, I’ve used that phrase multiple times in the past but this time I see it as a category. 

A follower of Christ sees the glass, understands that the glass is always changing and knows that if he/she keeps following the Owner of the glass that the glass will always provide what the follower needs. It’s not about the glass being empty and all is horrible or the glass being full and all is well. It is about Who controls the glass and its contents and Who controls our perspective of the glass. 

I think that Psalm 23 accurately portrays this truth. David had been through all these situations in his life. And he knew that God never left him in any of them. His glass was sometimes full and running over and sometimes his glass was dry as a bone. Sometimes he held his glass in the valley and sometimes he held it on the mountain top. And in each situation and in each location, David never faced these challenges alone. He always had the Filler and Owner of the glass on his side. 

So I ask you today, are you a “glass is half full” kind of person or a “glass is half empty” kind of person? Or are you that odd ball category of “follower of Christ” kind of category that sees things totally different than everyone else? Let me encourage you to change your perspective and try something new. Seek out the Owner of the glass. Let Him show you how changing your perspective can change your life. 

Leave a Reply

