The time is now

John 12:23 – “And Jesus answered them, saying, The hour is come, that the Son of man should be glorified.

Let me set this up for you, it was Passover. Jesus had just made His triumphant entry into Jerusalem. The disciples were all in a tizzy thinking that the time had come. Jesus was going to finally become the zealot they had hoped to follow. Some Greeks had come to visit with Him and they were giddy. But Jesus was about to burst their bubble big time. (For more on this story, read John 12:20-25)

But I want to focus on this particular verse and how it applies to your life today. I studied this verse yesterday in my Bible study time. I really tried to think about what it means. We have had a lot of things going on in the news lately – things that should trouble followers of Christ. In my way of thinking, it only points to the fact that Jesus is coming again very soon. The hour has come, dear friend, to diligently glorify the Son of man. 

So I ask you – what did you do yesterday to glorify Jesus? 

It’s a simple question. But if you are like me, it makes you stop….and think really hard….Did I glorify Christ yesterday? Did the light of His love shine through me at all? I asked my husband the same question yesterday morning and it stopped him in his tracks. 

We get so caught up in our day that we forget to glorify God. And that is exactly the devil’s goal – get them distracted long enough that by the end of the day they have forgotten Him and neglect to give Him any glory at all. The devil is very skilled at this. How many times have you laid your head on your pillow at night and wondered where the day went? 

We need to be more aware of our day and live more in the moment. Now, I know that some groups will use this phrase in a goofy way but I’m looking at it strictly from the perspective that if I don’t pay attention, someone may not see Jesus in me. For me, that’s what living in the moment is all about – learning to glorify God more in my life. 

So, I challenge you today at lunch – don’t wait until you go to bed – ask yourself at lunchtime what you have done to glorify God thus far today. Make lunchtime a check point for your day. Maybe you praised Him to your coworkers for keeping you from an accident. Maybe you handle a stressful situation with grace. Maybe you performed an act of service with joy in your heart. 

“Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.” 1 Corinthians 10:31

Do it all for His glory. Remember, “The hour is come, that the Son of man should be glorified.”

Leave a Reply

