Crossroads

Jeremiah 6:16a – “Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls.”

A crossroad. We come to them all the time and rarely acknowledge their existence. And also just as rare are the times when we ask for direction. “I got this. I know where I’m going.” And then, wham! Brick wall!

Yesterday, I was doing some cleaning and straightening of my house. I had my arms loaded and hit the light switch with my elbow and it sparked! Freak out mode! I needed to take my son to soccer and daughter was still upstairs asleep. I didn’t want to leave her at home and the house burn down. I’m checking the wall for heat and doing all this stuff to determine the safety level. I have a friend who is an electrician, so I text him and ask him some questions. He reassures me all is fine and tells me what to do. I safely leave the house, praying the whole time I’m gone and return to find my house still intact and my daughter up making breakfast. 

I had just visited a crossroad. I had a choice to make – go at it the way I thought best or reach out and find someone who knew more about the situation than me. I was looking for an old way, a more experienced way, a more reliable way. 

Too often, we don’t seek out an old way. We think newer is better, right? Not always. Sometimes the old worn paths are the most beautiful and most reliable. When we were in Kauai, we went hiking. It was a two mile hike around a mountain. There was an old worn path that was safe and secure. But there were, occasionally, a “new path” that seemed a bit more precarious. This “new path” was a short cut, a sometimes dangerous and steep short cut, that seemed to lead more down the mountain than I was comfortable with. We stayed on the old path. And you know what? We got to our destination safe and sound. Sure we could have shaved off a few steps by trekking the new path, but we determined that it was not worth the risk. 

Life is an adventure that has many opportunities. We are able to choose new paths or stick to the old ones. Sometimes the new path is the way to go because the old path has fallen apart. But sometimes the old path is the right way to go because the new one is just too dangerous. How do you know the difference? You have to look at the map – that means read your Bible, FYI. God has given us the perfect road map but it does you no good if you don’t look at and/or listen to it. Just like your GPS is useless until you turn it on, your Bible is useless unless you pick it up and engage in it. 

You are going to face crossroads every day. You need to know which path to take. Let me encourage you today to get into the RoadMap. Seek out the answers and be willing to hear them. If you are a follower of Christ, you are on your way Home. The scenery you take in along the way is totally up to you – will you follow Him or try your hand blazing your own path?

One thought on “Crossroads

  1. Very good! Please post on the Bay Lake FB page.

    Speaking of GPS, we had bought a Garmin years ago. I’m not a science fiction fan at all, but Bill and the kids love Star Wars movies, and stuff like that. I’m like, “Oh, please . . . Bette Davis movies are WAY better.” Anyway, not being a sci-fi fan, I was proud of myself for nicknaming the Garmin “Uhura” from “Star Trek.”

Leave a Reply

