A lesson from the porch

Exodus 6:6-9 – “Wherefore say unto the children of Israel, I am the LORD, and I will bring you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians, and I will rid you out of their bondage, and I will redeem you with a stretched out arm, and with great judgments: And I will take you to me for a people, and I will be to you a God: and ye shall know that I am the LORD your God, which bringeth you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians. And I will bring you in unto the land, concerning the which I did swear to give it to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob; and I will give it you for an heritage: I am the LORD. And Moses spake so unto the children of Israel: but they hearkened not unto Moses for anguish of spirit, and for cruel bondage.”

This morning, as I was sitting studying for my ladies’ meeting lesson, I heard the birds chirping outside. God was calling me outside for a little time of peace. 

As I sat out on my porch listening to the birds waking up, the bugs singing their last night song, the rooster crowing and watching the first light of dawn color the horizon, I remembered – if God can set all of this in motion, if He can color the sky and cause the animals to praise Him, why do I have such a hard time trusting Him? I have all of His promises right at my fingertips. I have His complete Word ready for my consumption. I can look out my window and observe His handiwork in creation. I can see His hand holding it all together. Why do I not let Him hold me together? All I can see is my problems, my frustrations.  Why do I feel that I need to have it all under control? Why can’t I just let Him lead me?

I’m not the first person to experience this. The children of Israel were experts in this. They too had the promises of God. But all they could see was their bondage. Moses tried to remind them. He tried to remind them that God would take care of all these things that were weighing them down. They just had to trust Him. They just had to follow Him. But they could see no way out. They were even scared to take the first step. I can’t imagine how they felt when they finally got to leave bondage only to come to that seemingly impassable sea. They were trapped. And they forgot God’s promises in that moment. I am so like them sometimes it scares me. 

God showed them that if He brings them to it, He will bring them through it. He used Moses to part the Red Sea and those forgetful people walked through on dry land. 

He also promised to bring them to their own land – a beautiful land flowing with milk and honey. He brought them through so much just to get them there. And then, just like me, they forgot, again – again and again and again, they forgot. 

So let me encourage you today to remember. Remember that if God is going to bring you to something difficult and seemingly impassable, He will bring you through it. Sometimes you just need to sit on your porch and be reminded that He is God. “Be still, and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10a).

Leave a Reply

