Perspective and Regret

John 12:16 – “These things understood not his disciples at the first: but when Jesus was glorified, then remembered they that these things were written of him, and that they had done these things unto him.”

Perspective. It’s something that we all could stand more of. We are a “shoot from the hip” kind of society. Too often, we react rather than taking a few moments to reflect. 

But this isn’t just a problem plaguing our generation. The disciples of Jesus had the same problem.  They had been traveling with, listening to and experiencing Jesus for about three years. They had seen His miracles. They had heard His teachings. They had seen His humbleness and gentleness. Yet, they didn’t fully get it until He had left. That was when they had time to stop and think. 

I am just as bad. Monday morning was a crazy morning. Things were not going at all like I had planned. And to top it all off, I sent my daughter to cheer camp for the first time. Away camp. And I wouldn’t see her for three days. Now, reflecting back on the day, I wish I had hugged her more and talked with her more and listened to more of her excitement. I got so caught up in all the things that I had to do that I didn’t appreciate the little things. 

I fear that too often this is exactly what we feel on a daily basis – regret. I’m sure the disciples experienced a certain level of regret as they looked back on Jesus’s ministry. They probably wished they had listened better and asked more questions. They probably wished they had not fallen asleep in the Garden when Jesus asked them to pray. Peter probably wished he could go back and do the whole trial thing again just so that he wouldn’t deny Christ like he had. But the past is in the past and all we can do is learn from it. 

So let me encourage you today to think. Think more about what is going on. Appreciate the little things a little more. Do less reacting and more reflecting. You see, we only get one shot at this life. Don’t waste a single moment. 

One thought on “Perspective and Regret

Leave a Reply

