20 years

Matthew 19:5,6 – “And said, For this cause shall a man leave father and mother, and shall cleave to his wife: and they twain shall be one flesh? Wherefore they are no more twain, but one flesh. What therefore God hath joined together, let not man put asunder.”

May 20, 1995 dawned bright and beautiful. It was the day I had been waiting for my entire life. I was going to marry my best friend. I remember bits and pieces of that day very clearly and other parts just run together. I remember going to the salon and getting my hair done. It was huge. I remember getting my makeup done – it was a lot. I remember going to the old farmhouse where we had our reception and hammering stakes into the yard for the balloons up the walkway with my big hair and veil. I remember getting shooed away from that task because everyone was afraid I would get eaten up by fire ants. I remember sitting on the stairs leading up to the bridal room eating a turkey sandwich and an apple. I remember giggling all the way the through the ceremony because I was so nervous. 

I remember going to sleep that night and hearing my new husband say, “I’ll see you in the morning.” And I said, “I’ll see you any time I dang well please!” And he responded, “Just the way I like it, pretty baby.” And thus has been said every night for the past twenty years just before we fall asleep together. 

But I think my fondest memory of that day was actually the next morning when I awoke to my new husband smiling at me. 

These last twenty years have been filled with ups and downs, ins and outs, laughter and tears. But I wouldn’t trade any moment for any thing in the world. God gave him to me for a reason. He keeps me balanced. He keeps me sane. He helps to carry my load. He loves me unconditionally. He builds me up. I pray I never have to imagine life without him. 

But the most important thing is he is my best friend to this day. He is my brother in Christ. He leads our home spiritually and physically and emotionally. He loves our children fiercely. 

Our marriage has been an amazing gift from God. We are not perfect by any stretch of the means, but God has set a love in our hearts for one another that is unbelievable. You see, we trusted Him first. We chose to walk His path together. We have chosen to give Him the say so in our marriage, in our decisions and in our future. God brought us together and only God can take us apart. But that is our choice to make. And we have chosen it every single day – for the last twenty years. 

I didn’t really write this blog this morning for any one else but him. But I hope that you have enjoyed a glimpse into my life and my love. And to my husband, I love you more than I can tell you. You have given me the best of my life and I am excited to see what God has in store for us in the next 20+ years. 

Leave a Reply

