12

1 Peter 3:10,11 – “For he that will love life, and see good days, let him refrain his tongue from evil, and his lips that they speak no guile: Let him eschew evil, and do good; let him seek peace, and ensue it.”

Today is my daughter’s twelfth birthday. I can’t believe she is that old. I was just thinking this morning that it doesn’t seem that long ago that she was this chubby face little angel blowing spit bubbles with those perfect little lips. And now, she is becoming a beautiful young woman. 

We call my daughter our “party waiting to happen”. She is so full of life. She is always smiling and always has something to say. She is very sensitive to the needs of her friends and the problems that they face. She is always seeking counsel on how to best handle a situation and problem. She wants the people she spends her time with to love her, to laugh with her and to share everything with her. She is an individual. She doesn’t have to follow the crowd to fit in with her peers. 

And the most important thing I can say about my daughter is she is God’s girl. She accepted Jesus as her Savior when she was very young. She is just like the rest of us – she fails but she keeps going back to Him. She is not perfect. She talks ALL THE TIME! When she was a baby, she would talk herself to sleep. She can have times where her confidence falters, even when she is doing an amazing job. She can be a bit nosy. I am constantly telling that if she is going to eavesdrop that she has to pay attention. 

But I love her. I love her so much. She is the first girl on my husband’s side of the family in four generations. God meant for me to have her in my life. 

So, what does all this bragging on my little girl have to do with this verse? It reminds me of my daughter. I know she is not perfect. I know that she fails. I know she drives me crazy sometimes. But she loves life. She tries to guard her tongue. She tries to stay away from evil and she is always seeking peace. She makes me want to be a better mom. She makes me want to be a better example to her. She makes me want to be a better follower of Jesus. 

God wants us to appreciate all the people in our life. He has given each and every person you come in contact with a special purpose to fulfill in your life. Let me encourage you today to identify those special purposes and let God manifest them in your life. Let Him show you what He is trying to teach you. And soak it all up. We are never promised tomorrow. 

One thought on “12

  1. Oh My Melissa! She is a spitting image of you and your momma when it comes to talking! Never known your mom to not have something to say. Of course I guess we could go back four generations to Grandma Baker. You are truly blessed. It’s a good thing. So proud how God is using you.

Leave a Reply

