Paper Cut

James 1:12-15 – “Blessed is the man that endureth temptation: for when he is tried, he shall receive the crown of life, which the Lord hath promised to them that love him. Let no man say when he is tempted, I am tempted of God: for God cannot be tempted with evil, neither tempteth he any man: But every man is tempted, when he is drawn away of his own lust, and enticed. Then when lust hath conceived, it bringeth forth sin: and sin, when it is finished, bringeth forth death.”

Last night, we were working on setting up an event for church and I got a paper cut. Not just me, but pastor did as well. And he loathes paper cuts. Not sure why….

Anyway, it’s just a tiny paper cut. It shouldn’t hurt too bad, right? Well, let me tell you, it is making typing difficult this morning. It hurts!

But it’s just a tiny paper cut. But what if I didn’t take care of it? What if I went to work today and some tiny germ got in my paper cut? What if it got infected? What if I had to go to the doctor for some medicine to make it better? But the medicine wasn’t received in time and the infection began to spread. And what if I had to get my finger amputated to try and stop the spread of infection? But what if the amputation was too late and the infection had already gone to my heart and I died – all because of a paper cut?

Sound rediculous, right? I hope that little tirade made you laugh this morning.

But just like this little paper cut seems like no big deal, we seem to look at sin in the same light. It starts off a just a little look. No big deal. We can handle just a little taste. But then before you know it, we become more and more overtaken by it. It begins to consume our thoughts, our actions and our future. It takes over.

However, we do have an option – Jesus. If I have said it once, I have said it a million times – we don’t walk this journey alone. He is ready and willing to help us conquer any thing that comes our way. He is also ready and willing to conquer our past. He wants to make all things new. But He will not invade your walk. He wants to be invited. He doesn’t help where He is not wanted. Remember, just like Jesus can take something tiny and turn it into a miracle, Satan can take a tiny bad choice and turn it into a catastrophe

So let me encourage you, watch out for paper cuts and tiny poor choices. Invite Jesus to walk with you today.

Leave a Reply

