In the grocery store…

Matthew 10:32,33 – “Whosoever therefore shall confess me before menhim will I confess also before my Father which is in heavenBut whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father which is in heaven. “

Have you ever seen someone famous? You know, in a casual setting? That happened to me yesterday, or at least I’m 95% sure I am correct in who I saw. 

I was at the grocery store and saw one of the new soccer players on our MLS team. Not just anyone, the main guy, the most highly paid player on the team, the one the season is built around. This guy is a big deal in soccer. I saw him from a distance and as I got closer, he looked me straight in the eye and I knew who he was. I think he thought I would say something, but for lands sake! The man was grocery shopping with someone who looked like his mom! I’m not going to say something and (1) be wrong about who he is or (2) make a big deal out of him doing something we all have to do. 

But anyway, yesterday I found myself telling everyone about who I saw at the grocery store. When we see someone “famous” we tend to do that, don’t we? We make a big deal out of someone with lots of fame and money doing ordinary activities. 

My point is this – I have encounters with my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ every day. Do I go out and spread that around like I do seeing a famous soccer player at the grocery store? No. Sadly, I do not. 

Jesus told us in these verses that if we confess Him before men, He will confess us before the Father. Well, by me not telling everyone about all that Jesus does for me on a daily basis, I am essentially denying Him before men. Ouch! 

You know, we need to be less worried about offending someone with our faith. I think a lot of the time that is what is holding us back. We are so fearful that we might offend that we don’t share our experiences; we don’t share our hope; we don’t share eternity. And I am just as guilty as the next person. I have people at work that need Jesus. And I don’t tell them like I should because I don’t want to upset our work relationship. How stupid is that?! I would sacrifice their eternity for a good day tomorrow. Yet, I know I will tell them about the soccer player yesterday. 

Let me encourage you today, speak out. Speak out for Christ. Let others know what He is doing in your life! 

Leave a Reply

