The Milk Story

1 Peter 3:15 – “But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear”

I have a thirteen year old son and I love him to death. He makes me laugh so hard sometimes. But like any thirteen year old boy, I can’t keep him full. On any given day, I usually have 1-2 gallons of milk in my refrigerator. The other day, I had two gallons from two different places – one from the grocery store and the other from Target. The gallon that was open was from the grocery store. Well, he had finished off the open one but needed more milk. Now in my mind, you open the one that has the closest date on it – use it before it expires. In this case, it was the gallon from Target that should have been opened next.  My son, however, did not see it that way. He opened the one from the grocery store. When I asked him why he would open the one from the grocery store instead of the one from Target, he simply said this, “Well mom, I was afraid the one from Target would taste different and I didn’t want to have two different kinds of milk in my glass!” And he said this quickly. He didn’t have to stop and think about it. He already had it planned out in his mind what he would say if asked about the milk. In his mind, it was a straight forward thing. No body wants to have two different kinds of tastes in their mouth when they are enjoying a glass of milk, right?

Yes, I know it is a silly story, but it’s a good one to show this spiritual truth – Be ready to give an answer, always. My son did not hesitate when asked about the milk. I’m not sure if he had been sitting on the couch just waiting for me to ask him about it or what. But he was ready. 

You are going to be out in the world every single day in same why shape or form. People are going to see you doing your job, getting groceries and spending time with people who mean a lot to you. Are they going to see you behaving differently or are they going to see the same thing that they see in everybody else? Hopefully, they are going to see something different. And when they do, they are going to ask questions. Will you have an answer? Will you be able to tell them what makes you different?

You know, I don’t think that I have ever had anyone come up to me and ask me why I’m different but I have had them come up and ask me about what I believe. I think that when people see that I choose not to curse and drink that is when they know that I’m a follower of Christ. People see those differences sharply. I’m very vocal about things, I know that surprises you. So when someone remotely asks me about something, I will go all out and tell them everything I know. Sometimes they get more than they bargained for! 

So my encouragement to you today, Princess, is to be ready and speak out. God has something to say to someone and you need to be His mouth piece. Don’t let fear stand in your way. But you have to be prepared. You have to get in His word. You have to make the effort to be in that relationship with Him. Spend some time with Him today. 

Leave a Reply

