Friday

Psalm 51:10 – “Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.”

It’s Friday and my brain is toast. I’m not sure how effective I will be at work today. All I can think about is all the stuff I have to this weekend. We have a soccer game, a dinner and a professional soccer game to go to. Not to mention time change. Holy man! All that and I lose an hour of sleep! Don’t get me wrong. I’m excited about each and every one of those things, but it is causing me to have a clouded mind this morning. 

And so, enters this verse and this prayer in my heart this morning. Some days you just aren’t at the top of your game. Some days the path before you seems so crowded that you are unsure how you are going to deal with it. 

But for me, I am comforted by this verse. I’m so glad that the Holy Spirit whispers it across my heart when He knows that I may have a tendency to go the other way. He reminds me to meditate upon it, even if it is when I’m doing something else. I’m so glad that the Creator of the universe cares for little old me, a nobody who loves Him. 

So if you find that your brain is overtaken by the demands of the weekend, listen. Listen for the verse that He will whisper across your heart to encourage you and get you back on the path. He’s there whispering. Sometimes you just have to be still and listen. 

Leave a Reply

