Choose life

Deuteronomy 30:19 – “I call heaven and earth to record this day against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing: therefore choose life, that both thou and thy seed may live “

Yesterday was the anniversary of a friend of mine’s car accident. This accident left her with significant injuries that require 24 hour nursing care. I didn’t know her at the time of the accident. But yesterday, the reality of it all just kind of hit me (so to speak). 

She has been dealing with all kinds of issues for nine years. And do you know what she said yesterday? “I should have a party because I died, but I lived.” That statement makes me want to cry. She wasn’t down about her condition or feeling sorry for herself because of all that she now has to face. She wanted to have a party and celebrate the fact that she chose life. 

Before we accepted Christ, we were all in that dead state. We really didn’t know how to live. Oh, we may have had a good time and did some fun and crazy things, but we weren’t truly living. Real life, true life only comes through Jesus. Walking in His ways brings true joy, true life. 

I see all that my friend goes through and all the challenges she faces and I wonder “why?” Why does she have to go through all this? Why did this happen to her? And then I remind myself that the reason behind it all is not my burden to carry. God has a reason for all of it. God has a reason that He wanted her to live. God has a reason that He wants me to live. 

You know, the day that we accepted Christ should be a day to be celebrated every year. It is the day we chose to live. Days may get murky and problems may seem to be sweeping you out to sea but always remember this – You have chosen to live. So live today, princess. Live in each and every moment. And don’t just live for yourself. Live for the One who gave you life – Jesus. 

Leave a Reply

