$10 or $10 million

2 Timothy 4:7,8 – “I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith: Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.”

Yesterday in Sunday school, I proposed this question to my class – Hypothetically speaking, would you rather have $10 now or work for me for 20 years, giving up all you plans and dreams for me and doing all that I asked you to do without complaint, and I would give you $10 million at the end? Guess what most of them said. They said $10 now. I was a little shocked that someone didn’t want the $10 million. The point of the little exercise was to teach them that God offers us so many blessing for following Him. But sometimes those blessings come a ways down the road.

We live in an instant society. I find myself getting frustrated when the internet won’t load a page I want to look at quickly enough. Or I get frustrated when my online banking is down for an upgrade. Silly stuff like that bothers me. And it shouldn’t. It’s crazy. But we are all about instant gratification. We want our stuff and we want it now.

Yet God encourages us to wait. He wants us to live our life for Him but sometimes He makes us wait for our blessings. And that can be tough.

I know that with every load of laundry you fold and every load of trash you take out and every meal that you cook and every ride that you give to school can be difficult. I know that it is time consuming. I know there are a million other things that need to be done instead. But you are serving. You are running the race. I know that every Sunday school class you teach and every minute that you spend in the nursery and every second you spend cooking for the potluck is a moment in time that you have given of yourself. I know that every paper you write and every class you attend and every homework assignment you complete can be taxing. And I know that every dollar you earn and every complaint you listen to and every mistake that you fix makes you want to pull your hair out. BUT…

“Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.”

Just remember, you are “loving His appearing” when you do all that you do for Him. All that I just mentioned, that is what you can do for Him. That is serving Him. That is loving Him. That is showing Him your dedication to Him by living your life for Him. That’s what He wants when you are His.

Leave a Reply

