My little kingdom

Ephesians 3:14-19 – “For this cause I bow my knees unto the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, Of whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named, That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man; That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love, May be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height; And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.”

As a Princess, it should be my desire to be more like Christ each and every day. But you want to know something, I fail. I fail miserably. I get up each morning thinking that today will be the day when I am most like Him. And then I go to bed each night filled with regrets with just how much I was not like Him.

I have had “More of You” by Colton Dixon stuck in my head this morning. The part of the song that keeps repeating is “this is my kingdom and it needs to fall”. Gee, I wonder what God is trying to tell me here?

My kingdom. My own little world where I’m the big shot. I do what needs to be done and what I want to do. But that’s it. I rarely make the effort to go above and beyond. Now, sometimes I do, but rarely. I don’t listen to Jesus whispering in my heart to do this or do that.

Man, am I Debbie Downer or what today! But seriously….

Paul was writing to the Ephesians here – the church at Ephesus. He was praying for them. He prayed that they would allow Christ to dwell in their hearts. He prayed that they would truly know the depth of Christ’s love for them. And he prayed that they would be filled with the fullness of God.

Paul knew these people were human. He knew that they would try and fail miserably. He knew that they would wake up in the morning with the desire to go and do what God would have them to do and that they would go to bed at night frustrated that they failed. He knew that they would have their own little kingdoms where they listened to no one. I think that is the reason that he prayed that they would understand the love of Christ.

You see, despite all our efforts and all our failures, Jesus loves us. He loves the fact that we have the desire to serve Him to our utmost every morning. And He loves that we come to Him with our sorrow and regret asking for forgiveness and for one more chance to get it right. He loves that we recognize that we have our kingdoms. And He loves that we have the desire to let Him tear them down.

When we give our life to Him willingly, there is nothing that we can say or do to lose our adoption. We may not always be filled with the goodness of God, but we always have the opportunity to go back and get a refill. In fact, we need a refill every day. That is why I try to encourage people to get into God’s Word every morning. You wouldn’t start out anywhere without gas in your vehicle. Why would you leave the house without the fullness of God in your heart?

Today, Princess, fill up with the goodness of God. Be open to the kingdom walls that need to come down. Go to Him with your hopes for the day and with your regrets at night. Let Him deal with them.

Leave a Reply

