Monday

Romans 12:1,2 – “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.”

It’s Monday. You will probably walk into work today and most people will ask you how your weekend was. They will ask if you did anything special for Valentine’s Day and then they will want to know what it was.

It’s Monday. It is the first day of the work week. It is a time for new commitments. “I’m going to eat less sugar this week.” “I’m going to park in the back of the lot and walk.” “I’m going to mop my floors this week.”

It’s Monday. Time to start counting the days until Friday. Time to figure out a way to make it through the week.

Monday is a day of renewal. It’s like you have January first every single week. It’s a day to turn over a new leaf, to decide to do something different.

I think these verses are great Monday verses. They encourage us to get our act together and stop living like everyone else. They challenge us to choose to be different.

Most people dislike Mondays. They dread the day. I will admit, there are times, like today, that I would like to skip Monday. My kids are going to be at home and I have to go to work. I would really like to stay home with them. But I chose to commit to a job that requires me to work today. So, I honor God by honoring my commitment. I also honor God by choosing to let Him have my brain today. It’s not much, but it’s my reasonable service.

My challenge to you today, Princess, is to choose to have a different kind of Monday. Choose to see it as an opportunity for renewal and transformation. Choose not to deliberately count the days until Friday. Let Friday sneak up on you because you are so caught up in living for Christ.

Leave a Reply

