Giraffes

Psalm 61:2-4 – “From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I. For thou hast been a shelter for me, and a strong tower from the enemy. I will abide in thy tabernacle for ever: I will trust in the covert of thy wings. Selah.”

Every day I try to learn something new. It may be something great and awesome or something trivial and small. But any time that we make a new neurological connection, we grow.

My new thing that I learned on Saturday was that a giraffe only sleeps about 20 min in a 24 hour time period. They are always watching for predators. It reminded my daughter of “Monsters, Inc.” – “I’m watching you Mike Wazowski, always watching.” Remember that? She decided she would never make it as a giraffe.

Anyway, it made me think about how we guard our life. We let our guard down all the time. It’s probably the reason that we face so many challenges. How much better off would we be if we were always watching? It’s way too easy to let the world in for just a few minutes. If that giraffe slept for a few more minutes, it could be the end of his life. Our sleeping or just being off guard could be detrimental to our testimony. I fear, that I don’t take that as seriously as I should most days.

But thankfully, I have Someone who is “always watching” – Jesus. He knows that I will fail and fall asleep, just like the disciples did in the Garden. But He in His love, never fails, never falls asleep. What an amazing comfort and peace to know that His rock is always waiting for me to crawl back in. When the world gets to be too much, His cleft is always open. He is my Strong Tower.

So today princess, make it your goal to run to Him when things are too much. In fact, run to Him before they get too much. Live in the shadow of His Strong Tower and be at peace. And along the way, don’t forget to learn something new.

Leave a Reply

