Day 1 Escaped

Hebrews 4:12 – “For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.”

Yesterday, we worked out in the yard. I know, what a thing to do on the first day of the new year. But it was nice and it needed to be done.

We were putting yard waste into a large trash can. It was getting rather full. So I asked my daughter to come and smash it down by standing on it. I had to help her up and away she went. She smashed and giggled and smashed some more until I saw something – a small snake head. “Come on down, sweetheart.” “Why mom?” “I think I see a snake.” Scream!!! We both hate snakes. Now the way I react to snakes is all snakes, at the time, seem like pythons. I hate them! I don’t like them in zoos. I don’t like seeing their skin that has been shed. I really don’t even like them dead. I know they have their place in the order of things but….in my mind, Noah should have left them off the ark.

I had been cutting bushes. I had this double edged bush trimmer that makes lots of noise and can do some serious damage to a snake, especially one the thickness of a pencil. So, I took care of that sawed off snake. See, I had already cut it in two when I was trimming some tall grass. It was probably four inches long and the thickness of my finger. But like I said, at the time it was a python as big as my arm.

My point in telling you this goofy little escapade is this – The Word of God is our defense. We don’t fight our battles with our hands or a little stick. We have the Word of God to defend us. This verse reminds us that it is super sharp and can cut through anything – and I mean anything. It can even discern the thoughts and intents of the heart. That means that the Word can help you determine if what is being said is true or not.

It does not matter if your battle is huge and life changing or minuscule and petty. God wants to be a part of them all. He wants to be a part of every decision as well. He wants to have a say in the big ones like “should I take this new job and totally change my family” and the little ones like “should I buy that bag of cookies”. Life is full of decisions and battles. I guarantee that you will be involved in one or both today.

Don’t go at it alone, Princess. You have the opportunity to win every single time because you plus God always wins. Romans 8:31 – “What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us?”

Leave a Reply

