The Name

Isaiah 9:6 – “For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.”

I am in charge of the “little folks” portion of the Christmas cantata at our church. It is going to be so cute! At the very end of the program, the children are walking down the aisle with these banners that have some of the names in which God is called on them. They are super sparkly and very bright. They will certainly be seen!

As I have been working on them lately, I have thought about all the names that we call God. It’s not that He has different names, rather, it is that sometimes we call Him by His attributes. You know, like you do sometimes with others – for example, I sometimes say “hey handsome” to my husband. Now, his name is not handsome but I call him that because he is handsome.

The names listed here are names and attributes. His name is not literally “Wonderful” but He is wonderful. The point I’m making is this – He demands respect no matter what name or attribute you call Him by.

I feel that I need to clarify one thing – God is not Allah. My God is the One and Only God, the God of the Bible. My God sent His Son, Jesus Christ, to die on the cross for my sins. I believe that Jesus is God in the flesh (John 10:30 – “I and my Father are one.”) You can also read John 14 for more information. In fact, just read the whole book of John.

Ok, got that off my chest.

I fear that in today’s “Christian circles”, that some have a tendency to make God out to be more of a buddy than God – the Creator of the Universe, the Almighty. Jesus is our Friend. But He is also our Savior and that demands something more than a friendship bracelet. I think that we need to see Jesus as our friend in order to remind us that we need to foster a relationship with Him. He is the Object of our worship but He also wants a relationship with us. He wants us to want to be with Him, reverently.

When I see “Counselor” in these verses, I think about Jesus being the One that we seek out for help. He is the One who walks alongside us to show us the Way and to show us our mistakes and how to correct them. He is the One that listens when no one else does. He is the One who holds us in the darkest part of the night. But in knowing that He is all of these things and so much more makes one come to the understanding that He is God. He is “The Everlasting Father.” And all of that requires us to give Him respect.

So today, princess, as you go through your crazy, busy life remember Who you are dealing with – God. Remember that Jesus is you Friend but He is also your Savior.

Leave a Reply

