Attitude of Gratitude

Colossians 2:6-8 – “As ye have therefore received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk ye in him: Rooted and built up in him, and stablished in the faith, as ye have been taught, abounding therein with thanksgiving. Beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ.”

Thanksgiving is two short days away. I love to cook Thanksgiving dinner. But, oh my, with work, running my son to soccer and laundry, I’m just praying to get it all done this year. I just got my 20 lb. turkey in the brine this morning. The bread for the dressing is drying. But there is still a lot to be done.

And then there is “Black Friday”. The insanity of it all is wild! Stores are opening on Thanksgiving day just for the almighty dollar. How sad! Their employees don’t get that special day with loved ones. They have to be at work. And for what? For somebody to get a present that may or may not be appreciated and that may or may put them deeper into debt.

Oftentimes, we loose sight of Thanksgiving. It gets gobbled up by Christmas every year. I think part of the reason that the world does this is so that we won’t remember and recognize all that we have to be thankful for. Because in doing that, we realize that we don’t need as much and then we don’t buy as much. And then I loose sight because of my preparation for the meal. In trying be and do it all, my thankfulness goes out the window.

Our pastor reminded us Sunday of some little notecards that had been left in the vestibule at church. They said, “What if you woke up tomorrow morning with only the things you were thankful for today?” I’ve heard that little question before but never really took it to heart. There are days when I would have a lot and days that I would have nothing at all.

One year I did a thankful journal. I think I’m going to do another one next year. It seems to me that by purposefully writing down what I am thankful for each and every day helps to keep my heart in an attitude of gratitude all year long.

You know, Christ lived a life a gratitude to the Father. He knew His time on this earth was limited and He wanted to make the most of it. The world tried to take His attitude of gratitude away. He knew the power of gratitude. He knew that it holds the key to humbleness and love.

With gratitude and thanksgiving comes a realization that you would be and have nothing without Him. There is no way you could love without Him. The job you have, the car you drive, the food you eat, the home you live in – all are blessings from Him. And even when things are sparse or poor, He still is blessing you in some way – you may just have to look a little harder for it.

So, as we face the two days before Thanksgiving, my challenge to you is this – be thankful. Be grateful. Let the distractions fall away and choose to see your blessings. And then, thank Him. Because without Him, we would be nothing.

Leave a Reply

