Dig a little deeper

Jeremiah 17:7,8 – “Blessed is the man that trusteth in the LORD, and whose hope the LORD is. For he shall be as a tree planted by the waters, and that spreadeth out her roots by the river, and shall not see when heat cometh, but her leaf shall be green; and shall not be careful in the year of drought, neither shall cease from yielding fruit.”

I like to grow things. Sometimes I am successful. Sometimes I am not. Right now I have mums on my porch that I know need to be watered today. I want them to continue growing. I want them to continue opening up their beautiful flowers. I have tried in the past to grow a garden. Some years were bountiful and beautiful. Other years were pitiful and sad.

Part of the reason that my garden did not do so well was from lack of water. Another issue that probably affected things was lack of nutrients. Plants need both these things in order to successfully produce fruits and vegetables. I also had weeds in my gardens. They took over one year because I didn’t pull them and tend to my garden the way that I should.

The point in all this plant talk is this – plants must be fed and tended to in order to grow. We are no different. If we want our relationship with our Savior to grow, we have to be fed and we have to tend to it. We have to make choices to be fed by His Word. We have to make choices to allow Him to tend to the garden of our life. Weeds will grow up and try to choke out new growth. Droughts will come when we feel like everything is going wrong. We will not be able to see any good whatsoever in our life. It is in those times that we have to be like a tree planted by the water. We have to ensure that our roots go down deep. We have to trust that our tap root will keep us supplied. How do you think that giant old trees stand through a tornado or hurricane? It is because their roots are strong and they go deep. We have to be the same way.

This verse in Jeremiah is encouraging to me. It helps me to remember to dig in a little deeper. It promises that blessings will be mine when I trust only in The Lord and hope only in The Lord. The verses before this one actually bring curses upon those whose hope is in man. People can and will fail. People forget to water their garden. People forget to weed their garden. And because of these choices, people aren’t always producing fruit. Why would we think that depending on them for something as important as your spiritual well being would be a good idea? God is constant. He doesn’t change. He never leaves His Living Water. He never fails to produce.

My encouragement for you today, princess, is to check out your root system. Do you need to dig a little deeper? Do you need to go to the Water for a drink or maybe a long gulp? Are you in a drought of joy? He can provide all this and more. You just have to be willing to let Him be all this and more.

Leave a Reply

