Spectacular!

Psalm 62:5 – “My soul, wait thou only upon God; for my expectation is from him.”

Last night, we were sitting around the dinner table having our typical Sunday dinner of leftovers when my husband says, “So, what are you going to do this week that is spectacular?” Totally took me off guard. Wasn’t expecting that one!

He asked the kids first. They said things like “I’m going to ace my 23rd Psalm this week” and “I’m going to really good on my presentation”. Then he asked me. I told him that I wanted to work on writing more of my devotional book this week. To which my darling son replied, “Haven’t you been working on that for like two years?” Yes. Yes, I have.

Anyway, what are you going to do that is spectacular this week? Too often we just settle for the same old, same old. We don’t expect great things to happen. Why is that? Do we think that we don’t deserve it? Do we think that as long as life goes according to planned that we will be okay? Why? Why do you want to live that way? Why not expect God to do something amazing in your life?

Have you ever seen “The Incredibles”? Love that movie! There is one part where this little guy is sitting on his tricycle watching Mr. Incredible get out of the car. Mr. Incredible says, “What are you doing kid?” The kid says, “Waiting for something amazing to happen!” He was expecting it. He had seen it once before and he knew it could happen again.

Haven’t we all seen God do something amazing in our life? Shouldn’t we be anxiously awaiting Him to do something amazing again? I mean for land’s sake! We are talking about the One who walked on water, who calmed a storm and who turned the water into wine – just to name three!

So this week, princess, let me encourage you to expect something spectacular in your life. Don’t let the opportunity pass you by. When you see it coming, grab it by the horns and hold on and enjoy the ride! God’s blessings are meant to be enjoyed. They are meant to be treasured. And they are meant to be shared. God doesn’t expect us to walk around all sad faced and gloomy. He wants us to light up a room. He wants us to show Him in all we do. Jesus didn’t live a boring and solemn life. No, He was vibrant and expectant of things. Just another reason why we need to live more like Jesus.

Leave a Reply

