Knock, knock…

Revelation 3:20 – “Behold, I stand at the door, and knock; if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.”

Do you ever have a time when there is a voice in your ear whispering “You are worthless. You are not important. No one cares about you or your feelings.”?

I think that we all have those feelings from time to time. We all have our low moments when the devil gets a foothold in our mind and has a hay day, so to speak. I had one of those days this week. But the devil didn’t win. When that voice in my head started whispering, the voice in my heart began shouting – “I love you! You are important to me!” That voice, the voice of the Holy Spirit, reminded me that I am His, that He is knocking on my heart wanting to come in.

Why is it that the devil is sneaking into our minds but Jesus stands outside waiting to be invited in? Jesus respects us and our ability to choose Him. The devil is cunning and secretive. He doesn’t respect anything!

But I digress. Sometimes we just need to hear something. Today, maybe you need to hear your spouse say “I love you”. Maybe you need to receive a hug from you child, spontaneously. Maybe you need your boss to tell you that you are doing a good job. Maybe you need the doctor to give you some good news. Or maybe you just need the Everlasting Father to wrap His arms around you and shelter you from the day.

Whatever you are needing today, Jesus stands at the door knocking, waiting for you to answer, so that He can give you whatever it is that you need today.

You know, I think the most beautiful part of this verse is the part where He comes in to spend time with you and that you spend time with Him. You see, He wants more than a one sided relationship. He wants to spend time with you. He cares about what is bugging you. He cares about what is making you happy these days. He cares about your dreams. He cares about the people that are important to you. He wants to hear about it all. Take some time today, sister, and spend some time with the One that you know wants to spend time with you.

Leave a Reply

