Oh, Paul…..

Romans 7:15,17 – “For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that I do not; but what I hate, that I do. Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.”

As I’m pushing 40, I am very mindful of my weight. I hear all the time that trying to loose weight after 40 is really tough. I want to loose it before I turn 40.
But it is not looking good. Peach cobblers, cookies, sweet tea and bread are just a few of the culprits keeping me from loosing a little bit of weight.

Every week, I tell myself, “Ok, this is the week. This is the week you are going to leave sugar and wheat alone, except for my coffee in the morning because I have to have my coffee. But other than that, no go!” Hasn’t happened yet.

It’s frustrating! The mind is willing, but the flesh is weak. Hence, the verse above. I know exactly how Paul feels. Now, I’m sure that he was talking about something far more spiritual than overeating, but the same principle applies.

I know that to loose weight I have to stay away from sugar and wheat. But I consistently find myself eating them both. And not just a little bit. It is usually to the point where sin is involved – gluttony. Nasty little sin. That which I know I should do, I do not. And that which I don’t want to do, I do. (Melissa translation)

So, what’s the solution? Theoretically, throw all that junk away. But I hate throwing away money.
No, what I need to do is just exactly what I have been telling you to do about reading your Bible – choose to do it. Choose not to eat the things that you know are bad for you. But don’t go at it alone. Ask for God’s help. Yes, He wants to help you loose weight too. He wants to be a part of every aspect of your life. If it is important to you, it’s important to Him!

So princess, if you find yourself in a similar situation, just remember – we can do. But we have to do it with help. We have to do it with Him.

Leave a Reply

