EMPTY!

Psalm 40:11 – “Withhold not thou thy tender mercies from me, O LORD: let thy lovingkindness and thy truth continually preserve me.”

It has been a long week. I am empty. All the soccer practices, dance class, homework, cheer practices, football game, work, driving everywhere – I am pooped. Needless to say, I am looking forward to the weekend.

Despite all my running around, I could not have made it without His tender mercies. I see them every day in my life. From providing all that my family needs to a cloud at the football game to keep my pale skin from burning to a crisp. (The game was very hot and very bright yesterday.)

I fear that too often we fail to acknowledge God’s handiwork in our life. We just take it as what we deserve, what we are entitled to. But truly, God doesn’t owe us anything. “But I go to church. I serve Him. I do all this stuff in His name. Aren’t I entitled to some benefits?” Nope. That, dear one, is your reasonable service (“I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.” Romans 12:1).

His mercy, His lovingkindness and His truth – these are the things that He gives you. These are the things that sustain you. When you are empty, when you have had a long week, when you are tired – these are what bring you through.
His mercy – not giving you what you deserve.
His lovingkindness – in my mind, that’s His hug.
His truth – well, that’s His word, the Bible. His truth holds promises. It holds answers. It gives direction.

So you see, at the end of the week, when there is too many hours and not enough of you, just lean on this verse. Let it flood your soul with hope to pull you through the day.

Leave a Reply

