Burying Jesus

John 20:18 – “Mary Magdalene came and told the disciples that she had seen the Lord, and that he had spoken these things unto her.”

I know this is a weird question, but bear with me – Do you bury Jesus? Told you, weird question. But do you? Do you make an effort to keep Jesus out of your life or is He just not easily seen in all that you do?

Let me give you this excerpt from Ann Graham Lotz’s book, Just Give Me Jesus
Our modern-day culture tries to keep Him buried in the church.
The church keeps Him buried in traditions or rituals.
Churchgoers keep Him buried on the weekend like a holy hobby.
The religious masses keep Him buried as an icon of history.
The religious leaders keep Him buried in their programs.
The intellectuals keep Him buried in debate.
The agnostics keep Him buried in doubt.
Without consciously trying, have you been keeping Him buried yourself….in neglect? in excuses for sin? in unbelief? in selfishness and pride? in alcohol? in drugs? in unconfessed sin?

Convicting little group of sentences, right? When I read this the other day, I was taken aback. I never really thought that I “buried Jesus” but when I read this, I had to admit that sometimes, yes, I do bury Jesus. And that made me sad. And convicted. And thoughtful. I was sad that there are people who treat Jesus as a “holy hobby” for the weekend. I was convicted because I know that there are times in my life where the majesty of Jesus has gotten lost in ritual. And I was thoughtful in that yes, I see this type of behavior everywhere.

The same can be said of us putting Jesus in a box. We limit His limitless power by constraining Him to what we think. He knows no bounds or limits. Why do we think He can’t handle something in our life? What, do we not want to bother Him? For lands sake, when you think about it, do you think it bothered Him to come to this earth and die for you? If He is willing to do this for a bunch of people who, at the time, could care less, don’t you think He wants to help you through your decisions? Don’t you think that He cares that the baby won’t stop screaming? Don’t you think He wants to comfort you when you feel lonely in a crowd of people? Don’t you think that He wants to work a miracle in your life when there is too much month at the end of the money?

Don’t bury Jesus! Don’t put Him in a box!

Princess, He wants to be active in your life. He wants to show Himself through you each and every day. He wants to develop a relationship with you. But it takes two to tango. So, sister, get ready to dance!

Note: The above quote is found on page 248 of Anne Graham Lotz’s book Just Give Me Jesus, published by Thomas Nelson.

Leave a Reply

