Drama, drama, drama

Matthew 11:28-30 – “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

I have an eleven year old daughter who started middle school last week. She is involved in cheer at school and dance on Tuesday nights. She is beautiful and bright.

At our house, we have an established study routine that we have had in place for quite some time now. We get home. The kids do their homework and then we rest. Both my kids are smart and have great study habits.

Well, last night, we had a fit of drama at my house. My daughter, out of the blue, started crying. She was freaked out about her first middle school test. She didn’t want to fail it. It is a vocabulary test. Really? I’m talking things like the definitions for science fiction, historical fiction and informational writing. Yes, this is the source of our fit of drama. Can we say hormones? I was telling my husband about it and he could not understand what was going on. Poor guy.

Now remember this, the vocabulary test wasn’t the only thing setting her off. She was worried about handling all her work and cheer and dance. She was worried that she would disappoint her dad and I. She was worried in generally about the whole middle school thing. Needless to say, her worry plate was FULL!

So, I sat her down and reminded her of this verse. She is a follower of Christ, praise the Lord, and she needed this verse. She needed to remember that Jesus wants our burdens. He wants all the things that are important to us, all the things that we cannot or don’t know how to deal with. He wants us to rest in Him. He wants us to walk alongside of Him.

I sent her off to her room with a box of Kleenex to have a little talk with Jesus. And you know what, she came down the stairs a much more peaceful young lady.

I had to give some burdens to Jesus last night too. I am coming to realize that my friend of eighteen years is coming to the end of his life – my cat. Now, I know that cats don’t have a soul, but he is my friend. I don’t take him to the vet because he is an indoor kitty and doesn’t need all the shots and stuff that outdoor kitties need. But another reason I don’t take him is because I’m afraid of what they will tell me. I can’t put my friend down. So, last night, I prayed for mercy. I prayed that God would take care of the situation. And now, I wait. I wait for Him to answer and to show His mercy to me and to His creation that He has given to me as a friend for eighteen years.

Dear princess, let me encourage you to give your burdens to Jesus. He cares about them no matter how small or insignificant they may seem to you or others. If it is important to you, it is important to Him. Walk alongside Him. Find rest in Him. And cry to Him – both in voice and in tears. Let Him hold you in times of worry and in times of sorrow and in times of joy. You see, He just wants to be a part of it all. He just wants you to rely upon Him to get you through it all.

Leave a Reply

