You want me to be still?

Psalm 46:1,8-10 – “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Come, behold the works of the LORD, what desolations he hath made in the earth. He maketh wars to cease unto the end of the earth; he breaketh the bow, and cutteth the spear in sunder; he burneth the chariot in the fire. Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted in the earth.”

My pastor spoke on this Sunday night. Sorry, pastor. It was so good, I had to use it!

Do you ever look back on your day when you are going to bed at night and think, “What was that all about?” Some days are insane. For example, here was my day yesterday.
Get up and exercise, go to work and work for 4 hours, come home to get the kids and go out for lunch, go buy school uniforms, head to the shopping center, look for my son some deck shoes, check out computers, look for the shoes again, go to the book store, head to the bath shop for some hand sanitizer, head home, stop at the pharmacy, get gas for the car, get home and cook dinner, clean up, go to church, come home, bed.
WHAT???

The writer of this psalm is praising God for being their refuge in times of trouble. And he meant real trouble. Like, your life is in mortal danger, kind of trouble. Praise God I didn’t face that yesterday, although, I know that people did face that yesterday. But despite the fact that we are safe inside our borders, we still feel like we are under attack sometimes. We are so busy running here and there doing this and that.

Look at this verse: “Be still, and know that I am God…” Be still. Gotta do this. Gotta do that. Gotta go here. “Be still.” But if I don’t do this and that, this will surely happen. “Be still.” But I might be late. “Be still.” I don’t have time for this. “Be still.”
We have a problem being still. Being still means not moving. Being still means listening, not talking. I know what you are thinking, “How can I ‘be still’ and still live my life?” You do know that you can actively wait, right? That means, doing what needs to be done as directed by God, not what you want to do as directed by you. Have you ever done a squat and held it? Are you moving? No. Are you still active? Yes. Your muscles are still working. They are still doing what needs to be done. They are actively waiting.

So, today princess, as you are going through the insanity of your day, be still. Take some time and stop and listen. You can be cleaning the house while you listen. I have found that cleaning the house is a great time for prayer and praising. Life is about serving and praising our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. And sometimes that involves being still and remembering that He is “our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.”

Leave a Reply

