The little lady

Psalm 13:1 – “How long wilt thou forget me, O LORD? for ever? how long wilt thou hide thy face from me?”

I work with the elderly. Right now, I have a little elderly lady that I am working with who fell and broke her hip. She is in her 90s. Precious, little thing. Before her fall, she was feisty and fun and talkative. Now she cries out to God to let her die. It breaks my heart. I know she is in pain but when she constantly questions God during our time together, I just have to say something.

So yesterday while I was helping her and she is crying out and questioning, I say to her, “You know that God is right here with you holding your hand. But what right do we have to fuss at God when things don’t go our way. We don’t like being in pain. We don’t like having to do things that we don’t want to do. But He has chosen to keep you here because you still have work to do. Now, what we are doing is going to help you if you help yourself. But if you keep going the way you are, things will never get better. Now, love, you have a choice to make.”

You know, for a brief time, she stopped her wailing and just sat there and thought about it. Now, who knows what today will bring but for that brief moment, she was thinking about things.

My point is this – life is hard. Things are tough. We have to do and experience things that are just no fun. Jesus never said that things would be easy, that we would never have pain or sorrow. He just promised that we would never face then alone. Sometimes you have to put on your big girl panties and deal with it.

David faced the same type of sorrows, the same feelings of rejection. But what I want to point out is the last two verses of this chapter.
verses 5,6 – “But I have trusted in thy mercy; my heart shall rejoice in thy salvation. I will sing unto the LORD, because he hath dealt bountifully with me.”
David remembered that even though things were rough, that God had never let him down. And that God had always provided abundantly for him. And he praised The Lord because of it.

So, today princess, when you find yourself wailing and crying out to God (whether with your mouth or your heart), remember that He has always brought you through your pain and sorrow and heartache. He won’t let you down this time either.

Leave a Reply

