Stains on the couch

James 1:2-4 – “My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.”

Let me just say this, I had a moment last night of obedience to this verse. It was a rare moment when you look back and realize that you kinda sorta did what you are supposed to do.

My daughter and I were sitting on the couch. She was drinking a water bottle that she had added red flavoring to. She spilled some of it on me and on the couch. Now, her natural reaction is to cry and whine. I think she does it because she knows her dad and I are a sucker for tears. My husband sees what has happened and begins to panic. All the while after my initial shock, I’m yelling, “Chill out! It’s fine! No big deal! We can take care of it!” See, I remembered that when we got the couch, we wisely had it hosed down with Scotch Guard. That red stain was coming off. We just didn’t need to cram it into the fabric. So as I calmly walked to the kitchen to get a rag to clean it off, every one is watching it “sink in”. Then I take the dry cloth, blot it off and then wet the cloth to finish the job. This morning, no stain on the light gray couch.

Now, this was a rare moment of mine. A moment of clarity and wisdom. And considering the last week, that in and of itself is a miracle!
My point in all of this is that red stains are going to happen on light gray couches. Temptations are going to come your way that make you flip out and panic. Life is going to stain you up bad. But remember, princess, you have Scotch Guard – it is called the blood of Jesus Christ. He makes those stains go away!

One more thing, did you look at the last part of the verses above? You have to let patience have “her perfect work”. It is hard to be patient especially when you see the stain sinking in. You forget what you learned in the past. You want to jump to conclusions and freak out. You have to remember that part of being patient is waiting. And waiting for “perfect work” is tough. But you are a princess; you can do it.

So today, princess, when the stains of life start rearing their ugly heads, be patient. Remember you have Scotch Guard and deal with them. No need to freak out. No need to jump to conclusions. Just roll with the punches and go with the flow.

Leave a Reply

