A beautiful reminder

Colossians 1:21-23a – “Once you were alienated from God and were enemies in your minds because of your evil behavior. But now he has reconciled you by Christ’s physical body through death to present you holy in his sight, without blemish and free from accusation – if you continue in your faith, established and firm, and do not move from the hope held out in the gospel.”

To me, this verse is a beautiful reminder of all that I have gone through.

At one time, I was far from God. I accepted Jesus as my Savior at a young age. It is hard for me to remember a time when I didn’t know Jesus. But nonetheless, I was lost, even as a child.

But now, because of salvation, I am reconciled to Christ. He has made me blameless in the sight of God. I remain blameless by doing what He has commanded.

Now, what do I do? Do I have some big, majestic, trumpet-sounding purpose in my life? Double door entry, if you please! No, not really. I’m just an ordinary girl serving an extraordinary God. My job is to keep on truckin’.

My pastor was telling a story last night about William Carey. He was a missionary to India in the 1800s. He preached for 10 years without a convert. Ten years of day after day telling people about Jesus without one single person accepting this truth. Can you imagine? Could you have gone that long in a foreign country without phone support for 10 years and see no fruit for your labor? That just blows my mind. But God blessed his faithfulness. And when someone did finally come to the truth, the floodgates opened. Many people were saved.

No, sometimes it is hard to know what to do and how to do it. How do I live my life not knowing if I am making a difference? Why do we think that God is going to let us in on His plan? Do we really need to know? No. Not really.

So, what am I telling you today princess? I’m encouraging you to keep going. Keep doing what you know you need to do. Keep studying. Keep praying. Keep looking for opportunities to share Christ. Don’t give up. You don’t need to know all the ins and outs of His plan. You just need to know He has a plan.

Leave a Reply

