My little tongue or my big mouth

James 3:5 – “Even so the tongue is a little member, and boasteth great things. Behold, how great a matter a little fire kindleth!”
Yesterday, we were driving home when my daughter abruptly interrupted the conversation my son and I were having about soccer with this statement: “Sometimes I think my tongue has a mind of it’s own.” Now, she had been sitting there looking in the mirror at herself and singing and talking (it didn’t matter that no one was listening). That’s just how she rolls. When she said this, I looked at her confused. Where had this come from? She has a knack for saying random things but this was more out of left field than usual. My son just busted out laughing. Sometimes that is the best reaction for these things. Me, I had to probe deeper. But, to no avail. It was just a random moment popping out of her mouth.

But there is great truth in her random statement. I know sometimes I feel like my tongue has a mind of it’s own. Things will pour out of my mouth before my brain has a chance to rein it in. I hate it when that happens. I feel like a fool. Just a few little well placed words have the ability to start a huge, uncontrollable fire.

There are so many verses in the Bible about your tongue and your words. They have such an effect on people. Have you ever tried just being quiet in a situation? Not saying a word? It makes people uncomfortable sometimes. They think you are plotting or something. My momma always told me “if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.” Aw, momma-isms. Don’t we all have a bucket full of those! But it is true. It can save you from a plethora of heartache.

So today, princess, let me encourage you to be quiet. Don’t let that little tongue of yours run off with itself. Don’t start a fire today unless it is a fire for The Lord.

Leave a Reply

