Homesick

2Timothy 4:8 – “Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day – and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.”

Have you ever been homesick? Have you ever longed for someplace else? I know there were times when I lived up north that I longed for somewhere warm in the winter. I also remember those firsts few days of being at college and having no one there that I knew. I remember feeling lonely and isolated. I remember when my husband used to travel overseas for work and would leave me at home with the kids and 10 inches of snow on the ground. I longed for him to return to give me a moment of reprieve.

But do you long for Jesus’ return? I mean really long for it. O, we might anticipate it. We might feel excited about it. But do we long to be with Him? Really, it is a tough question. And one that I find myself having a hard time consistently doing. I ebb and flow. So sad, but true. I get caught up with what needs to be done and when and how and where that I forget, oh, yeah, Jesus. His return. Right…..

Why is it that I have such a hard time keeping Him at the forefront of my thoughts? That wily fox, the Devil, plays a very mean game. He knows what I need to get off track. He knows that if he can keep me busy enough that I won’t think about what I need to be doing to prepare for Jesus’ return. He knows that he can get me busy enough to neglect longing for Him.

So does that mean that I should sit around pining like a lovesick teenager? Nope. I think longing for Jesus means that you think about Him more that just at your Bible study. (You do study your Bible, right?). I think it means the desire to see Him coming in the eastern sky. Do you ever look eagerly at the sky? I think it is seeing the truth of His word in everyday activities.

So how can you be homesick for somewhere you have never been?

Studying and reading God’s word. In my opinion that should make anyone homesick. These words from an old hymn are running through my head: This world is not my home. I’m just a passin’ through. My treasures are laid up, somewhere beyond the blue. The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door. And I can’t feel at home in the world any more.

This is what reading about heaven makes me feel like. The thought of all my loved ones waiting for me. And for my Savior waiting for me. Man, what a day that will be. Longing. Longing to go home.

Today princess, are you longing to go home? Do you long for Jesus? If not, give it to Him. Let Jesus put that desire in your heart. And run with it. Bask in it. Enjoy it. Everyone needs something to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

