Deception

Galatians 6:7 – “Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows.”

Deception. It is a common thing in today’s society. Sad, but true. We wear makeup to deceive those around us into believing that we have “perfect” skin. We have advertisers deceiving us into thinking that they have the best prices. We have people everywhere telling us that things are fine, no need to worry or be concerned.

Deception is everywhere. In my old 1828 Webster’s, deceive is defined as: to mislead the mind; to cause to err, to cause to believe what is false, or disbelieve what is true. This is frightening to me. I don’t like to think that people are purposefully misleading me for some benefit of their own.

Yesterday, my kids’ school had a uniform exchange. I was looking for my daughter a new skort. The school is enforcing a rule that has always been there – the skirt/skort can be no shorter than 3 inches above the knee. Reasonable, right? Well, as I was looking through the used skirts, I found 2 that had been hemmed up to be shorter. I mean, so short that the hem was at the bottom of the shorts underneath the skort! Holy Man! No way I would do that for my daughter! Why would they do that? Deception. They wanted to show off more leg than was necessary or allowed. They wanted to cause err.

So today, princess, be on your guard against deception. Don’t let any one fool you. Satan wants to deceive us all the time. He wants us to believe we are not good enough, that we don’t need God, that they Bible really didn’t say that. But don’t listen to him. Don’t let the world tell you things that could harm you. Listen instead to that still, small voice inside your heart telling you that He loves you and that he will never leave you and that He will always guide you.

Leave a Reply

