Momma Bear

Proverbs 14:29 – “A patient man has great understanding, but a quick-tempered man displays folly.”

Does momma bear ever come out of the cave at your house? You mommas know what I mean. Someone threatens or is mean to one of your cubs and out she comes, roaring with all her might.

Have you ever wondered sometimes if you jump out of the cave a little too quickly? Well I have and I do. And my cubs are not just my children. I can’t tell you how many times I have offered to “tear someone up” for my husband.

Now, I’m not a violent person. Actually, my bark is worse than my bite. But still, when someone is messing with one of mine, watch out! I don’t like it when someone falsely accuses, lies, steals, talks bad about one of mine or is just generally stinky to them. I try not to be that way to others and I expect the same respect. Too bad it doesn’t always go that way.

This verse in Proverbs is encouraging us to chill. Bite your tongue. Hold your horses. Pick your analogy. It doesn’t matter. They all mean the same thing – wait. Stop and listen to the whole thing before you react. Get all the pieces to the puzzle before you start putting it together. Assumptions can wreak havoc on things.

So today, princess, I want to encourage you to keep momma bear in the cave until absolutely necessary. She can be very ugly and “ain’t no body got time for that!” Wait on The Lord. Let Him show you what is really going on and let Him lead you to the truth. He will also show you how to handle the situation. And smile – momma bear can’t come out if you smile.

Leave a Reply

