I am convicted

Ezekiel 33:30-32 – “As for you, son of man, your countrymen are talking together about you by the walls and at the doors of the houses, saying to each other, ‘Come and hear the message that has come from the LORD.’ My people come to you, as they usually do, and sit before you to listen to your words, but they do not put them into practice. With their mouths they express devotion, but their hearts are greedy for unjust gain. Indeed, to them you are nothing more than one who sings love songs with a beautiful voice and plays an instrument well, for they hear your words but do not put them into practice.”

I heard this verse yesterday on the radio. It moved my heart. I was convicted. How many times do we go to church, hear the message and walk out the door unaffected? Oh, there might be a moment when we listen and let God move in our hearts, but something happens at the threshold – we loose it. We somehow let go of the change God wanted to make in our life.

We invite people to church. We encourage them to go and read their Bibles. But do we? Do we take the time and truly apply what we have learned when we do take the time to read our Bible?

Are we just giving God lip service? Do we express devotion with our lips and then act greedy and unjustly when we are outside the building? Am I just sitting in service to be entertained in some way or am I truly there to worship?

My heart is saddened. I am sad because I know that at times I am guilty. I am sad because I see it happening Sunday morning after Sunday morning. If I am guilty, I know someone else is too. And that makes me sad. Sad because of all the missed opportunities to serve. How many people have wondered in and out of my life without me saying a word to them about my Savior? How many will today?

I know I have written about obedience before but it is a topic near and dear to my heart, probably because I know I need to work on it. I just see so many people floundering, myself included. Obedience is a choice. Applying what we have learned from Scripture is a choice. We all have choices to make. Some are easy and some are not so easy. Obedience may mean getting out of your comfort zone. It may mean putting yourself out there a bit more than you want to. But as I heard yesterday, obedience is an opportunity for a blessing. God wants to do amazing things in your life. Are you willing to obey to see what will happen? Or are you content to stay on the sidelines and wait for Judgement Day to find out what you could have done?

Leave a Reply

