The new shoes

Colossians 3:13 – “Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.”

Ok, are you ready for petty me time? Yesterday, my son went to school with his new pair of shoes. They are skull piercing yellow, but very cool. He told me that yesterday, one of the boys in his class took a green white board marker and marked on the top of his new shoes. Livid! I was so mad. So frustrated that some people have so little respect for the property of others. What is wrong with people today?

I found this out right before bed. So, of course, I had to share it with my husband. No need to be mad all alone, right? So now, there were two of us frustrated at the injustices of the world.

And then before I drifted off to sleep, that still small voice whispered across my heart. It reminded me of what I had just taught my son – how to be angry and frustrated. Guilt! Don’t you love when that comes on you just as you are ready to go to sleep?

So, I have resolved to forgive this young man of his actions against my son. And I have resolved to speak to my son about forgiveness before we go to school today. I don’t want him carrying this around and thinking that my frustration and anger is okay.

We need more forgiveness in the world. Oh, it won’t make everything sunshine and rainbows, but it would probably solve a lot of the problems we face daily. Paul commanded us through the inspiration of the Holy Spirit to forgive. Shake it off and move on. Give up your right to retaliate. Be free from the bondage of hate. After all, it is what Jesus did with us. How could we be expected to do anything less?

One more thing, let your children see you correct wrong. Let them know that you are not perfect, that you fall short of what God expects. They need to know that it is ok to ask for forgiveness from others as well as from God. They need to see restoration in our life. They need to know that God runs to a willing heart ready to repent.

Leave a Reply

