Closed! No way!

Romans 8:28 – “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

The other day, I picked my son up early from golf. It had been 3 weeks since his last allergy shot and it was time for one. So we drive over to the clinic expecting to get a shot. We pulled into the parking lot and I said, “Why are there no cars in the parking lot?” They were closed on Wednesdays. My blood began to boil. I had taken him out of practice early to get this done. I knew that I has seen somewhere that they would be open that day. So I get out my trusty phone and check the picture I had taken of the shot schedule. I was already loading my mental gun with what I was going to say to those people who had falsely advertised their hours. But instead I find that I had looked at the wrong line. Oh, they were open on Wednesdays, in a different city and different clinic. Now, I’m deflated and frustrated. My two kids (5th grade and 6th grade) have been particularly crazy this week. Not sure if the moon is pulling their brains from their bodies or what! But any way, they were excited that they didn’t have to sit in a boring and cramped little office for 30 minutes. So, craziness ensued. I quickly put out that light by saying, “Hey! I’m pretty frustrated and angry right now. I would suggest you knock it off until we get home.” “Yes ma’am,” they said. And all was quiet for me to sulk.

So as I’m driving in my quietness, I hear this verse roll across my heart. God was reminding me that everything was okay. That I really don’t need to be all upset about it because obviously He has a reason for me getting this shot thing all confused. Come to find out, we were able to come home, get homework done, have dinner as a family and go to church together. It really was beautiful. Good times together and learning about The Lord together.

Princess, you are going to make mistakes and things are not always going to go your way. But you must remember that the Creator of the universe is on your side and directing your path. He really does know what is best. And by the way, I apologized to my kids for blowing up at them. And I reminded them of this verse as well. I think it is important for your children to know that you make mistakes but also that you have found the way to forgiveness and it was all because God led you there.

Leave a Reply

