Move it! Move it! Part 4

2 Peter 1:5-8 – “For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.”

Today, we are going to look at perseverance. Perseverance is the ability to keep going. It is endurance and strength. Things we all need on a daily basis, especially when you have the first week of school, golf practice until 6 and revival at 730. It can make a body weary. But God gives us the ability to keep going if we are faithful to Him.

Acts 20:24 – “However, I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me – the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace.” Here is the reason we keep going. We must be determined to spread the Word of God and show others Him at work in us.

James 1:2,3 – “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.” Well, here it is. How to grow faith through perseverance. It’s not pretty, is it? No one wants to face trials; let alone do it with joy. Yet, this is where we find ourself. This is where we grow. This is where we learn. This is where we find joy.

Perseverance is not something you come by easily. It takes hard work. It takes action. It takes sacrifice. But it is worth it. You draw closer to the One you live for. You find peace in turmoil. You find joy in trials.

I hate the unknown. I don’t like not knowing what is going to happen. That has been what I have been facing these last few days. I don’t know how I am going to do it all. I don’t know how I am going to handle school, work and after school activities. And until I get it figured out, I tend to be a bear and not a cuddly one. I need to trust more. I need to persevere in a more Christ-like way.

So princess, look at how things are going in your life today. See if you have areas of perseverance that you could improve. Don’t fret. And don’t worry. Just cheerfully endure and let God hold your hand.

Leave a Reply

