VBS Day 5 – God cares for me

Proverbs 30:7-9 – “Two things I ask of you, O LORD; do not refuse me before I die: Keep falsehood and lies far from me; give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread. Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you and say, ‘Who is the LORD?’ Or I may become poor and steal, and so dishonor the name of my God.”

VBS Day 5 – God cares for me

The children of Israel had just seen the waters part and then they walked across on dry ground. They had just seen Pharaoh’s army destroyed. They daily saw the presence of God leading them. Yet, they complained. They didn’t like what they had to eat. Sound familiar? Fickle little boogers and we are just like them. Never satisfied.

Here in Proverbs, Agur had some amazing insight – Give me only what I need for the moment I am living in. Too much and I know that I will get prideful. Too little and I know I will want more. Did this guy hit the nail on the head or what?

As Americans, we are always wanting the next best thing. Just look at how crazy we get when a new phone comes out, for lands sake! Contentment is incredibly difficult for all of us. And we are passing this onto our children. But we give it a fancy name and call it “peer pressure.” Does that make it less of a problem if we give it a psychological name? Nope.

God provided the children of Israel with quail and manna to sustain them in their journey. Their clothing and shoes never wore out. Nor did their shelter fail them. God provides for us today. It may not always be what we want but it will be what we need. But we have to put forth the effort to follow His instructions in the whole lot of it. God told these people to only gather so much. If they gathered more, it got nasty. If they didn’t gather enough, they were hungry. God provided exactly what they needed if they followed His instructions.

Today princess, look around and see the hand of God at work in your life. Be content with what you have. Learn this treasured attribute. Make it something you choose to practice everyday.

Leave a Reply

