Common threads

Ecclesiastes 4:12 – “Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.”

This verse has so many applications. You can apply it easily to marriage. But today I want to look at it in the terms of family. Maybe another day I will look at marriage and this verse.

I had the opportunity to spend some time with my brother and his wife and children last night. It made me think about common threads.

I can sit at my mom’s kitchen table and be surrounded with a multitude of pictures. I see ones of me as a child, of my brother as a child, of mine and his children as babies. And even though we really look nothing alike, you can see a common thread of physical attributes. My brother and I always laugh that we have our daddy’s knees.

But more than a physical thread, we have a common spiritual thread – Jesus. We are a blessed family, in deed. We all faithfully attend church and we all serve. Jesus is the center of our marriages. Oh, we are far from perfect – far, far away from perfect! But we desire to have Christ at the center of it all.

When we were growing up, our strand of three was ourself and our parents and Christ. Without Him, we would have surely failed. I could not have made it through some of the things in my life without Him. And I know my parents would say that He gave them the strength not to strangle us sometimes!

Now my strand of three is myself, my husband and my Savior. Without them, I would curl up in a ball and hide.

I am so thankful for the reminder in Ecclesiastes of the strand of three and for the reminders that I see all over my mom’s house that family is so important. But without Christ at the center of our family, I know that things would have been so much different. Thank you, momma and daddy, for showing me the strongest strand that has ever been and ever will be – Jesus.

Leave a Reply

