Daddy

Proverbs 23:22a – “Listen to your father, who gave you life …”

(The rest of the verse is about your mother and when she is old, none of us want to go there 😉)

My dad. My dad was 50 years old when he went to be with The Lord. That was 11 years ago. I can keep up with that because my son was 3 months old when he died. I still remember him holding my son. He was the first one to rock him. A privilege I’m glad he got.

My children have never received a hug from their grandpa. They have never heard him sound like Donald Duck. They have never watched him clear his throat and push up his glasses whenever he had something of significance to tell you.

But I have those memories. And I share them as often as possible with my children. I tell my son that he is so much like his grandpa that he hurts! And it is true.

My dad was not perfect. He made mistakes. He made poor health choices. But he was a man that followed The Lord. He loved Him and sought to serve Him as best he could. That was my daddy. He would tell you about what The Lord had done for him. He would remind my brother and I about the Scripture and what it had to say on a matter.

I know that Father’s Day was yesterday, but you know me – a day late and a dollar short! If you have been blessed with a God-fearing father, listen to him. He wants only what is best for you. If your dad has not yet found The Lord, show him the Way. It will be the greatest thing you could ever do for your dad.

And remember our Heavenly Father. Listen to Him. For he is the One who gave you your father. This man you call daddy here on earth was specifically chosen for you in Heaven.

Leave a Reply

