The Shell

1 Thessalonians 4:16-18 – “For The Lord himself will come down from heaven, with a loud command, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first. After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet The Lord in the air. And so we will be with The Lord forever. Therefore encourage one another with these words.”

If that doesn’t make you smile, I don’t know what will!

My daughter brought home a shell she was given by a friend. It was a naturally hinged shell that she unhinged on the way home. I thought her lip would hit the floor, she was so upset. I told her we would fix it when we got home.

We get so upset when our shells get damaged. I’m not talking only about the ones we gather on the shore but also about the one you are in right now. Sometimes we forget that this body is just a shell. That we are meant for bigger and better things.

However, you have to roll with the punches and we have to take care of our shell. So many people are hurting – their shell is hurting or they are hurting their shell.

But one day (in the near future), we are going to say goodbye to this shell. We will be with the Father, either by death or rapture.

Rapture. How cool would it be to be standing in a graveyard on that day?! I get giddy just thinking about hearing that trumpet call me home. O, to be able to hug my Savior and tell Him I love Him face to face. I know I will have to get in line for that one, but I don’t mind the wait!

We need to live like at any moment The Lord will come-a-calling. Today princess, take some time and search out the eastern sky. Look for Him not only in the air but in every situation you find yourself in today. Tell someone how excited you are about the time that is coming where you finally see The Lord face to face.

Leave a Reply

