Promotion

Luke 2:52 – “And Jesus grew I wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and men.”

My son had 5th grade promotion the other night. My baby – getting ready to go to middle school. It doesn’t seem possible.

The middle school principal used this verse to remind us parents how much our child will change in the upcoming year. Do you realize that Jesus was middle school age when He was with the teachers in the Temple? Middle school! He was almost the age of my son! When you really stop and think about it, it can really blow your mind.

But just as my son is preparing for major changes, Jesus changed as well. Luke tells us that He changed in 3 ways: wisdom, stature and favor with God and men.
Jesus learned some things. Now don’t get me wrong, He was all God and all man. I just don’t think that He had access to all the info in His brain at a super young age. I think His learning opened the door to what He already knew. Are you with me?
Jesus grew physically as well. My, how my son is growing physically. I can’t keep the boy in church pants!
Jesus gained favor with God and men. I believe that He proved to be obedient. Well, He never sinned. So He had to be obedient!

Growing up around Jesus must have been a chore. Being around Perfection – One who never sinned – that had to be tough! My kids love to laugh about some of the conversations that must have gone on in Jesus’ home. Mary hollering at the other children, “Quit wrestling with Jesus! Don’t you know He is the King of kings! He could call the angels to tear you up!”

Sometimes we forget that in the extraordinary life of Jesus that He did ordinary things and had ordinary days. The only difference is that He didn’t sin.

My son is growing up. During the ceremony, we had to present our child with a wish. My wish was for him to grow up in the love and admonition of The Lord. I know the next few years are going to hold changes I cannot even imagine. But I am so grateful that I don’t walk the path alone and neither does my son. For with God, all things are possible.

Leave a Reply

