The Proverbs 31 woman at a glance

Proverbs 31:30 – “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.”

The Proverbs 31 woman. What a gal! As women who are followers of Christ, this is what we all strive for in one way or another. Sometimes I read her account and throw my hands up in the air and say, “Forget it! This woman had maids and everything else! I can’t even get my family to take out the garbage!” But then other times I read it and find encouragement, little bits of truths that I can apply to my life right now.

Our society is so caught up in appearances. We think that walking out of the door without make-up is a mortal sin. (I rarely leaved house with make-up on! I figure if they like me plain and natural, they will love me all dolled up!). Anyway, we are obsessed with how we look. Have you ever stood in a grocery store checkout line and read all the headlines? Trash. But you can see how obsessed we are with appearances.

The writer of Proverbs 31 wanted to emphasize the temporal nature of beauty and the deceit of charm. Our society thinks you can get whatever you want with these two things. But we learn here that what we may get from these things is nothing compared to what we get from subscribing to a higher calling.

Walking with The Lord can be hard. It takes work. It takes time. It takes making a daily choice. But doing what we women do with the attitude of Christ is great gain. One day, we will stand before our Savior and He will sum up our life. Will He say, “Depart from me. I never knew you”? Or will He say, “Well done, my daughter. Welcome home”?

Following the ways of the world will bring you nothing but trouble both here and now and later into eternity. But choosing to “fear God and keep his commandments” will bring peace here and joy in eternity. The choice is yours.

Leave a Reply

