Homecoming day

Lamentations 3:21-26 – “Yet this I call to mind and therefore have hope: Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, ‘The LORD is my portion; therefore I will wait on him.’ The LORD is good to those whose hope is in him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the LORD.”

Today is the 11th anniversary of my Daddy’s homecoming with The Lord.

I will never forget the day that I got the phone call that he was gone. My heart broke. My son turned 3 months old on that very day. I was so sad.

I remember my pastor coming over to console me. I remember him telling me that the sun would still come up in the morning. I wanted to punch him! How could he say that to me?! But looking back, I see he was right. What he was trying to get me to see was God’s mercy and compassion. He was trying to encourage me to keeping moving. I had to – my son was still a baby. He needed his mommy.

I have learned over the last 11 years that grief lingers. I still cry because I miss my daddy. I still have moments when I want to call him and get his advise or tell him about something my kids have done. Time is healing the wound but I will always have a scar.

But – I have hope. I will see my Daddy again – and soon! You see, my Daddy was not perfect, but he was forgiven. He walked with The Lord. And because of that choice he made many, many moons ago, I will get to see him and my children will get to know him. He left a legacy of faithfulness. Not a legacy of perfection. That is was Jesus’s thing.

So on this anniversary, if your Daddy is still around and following The Lord, would you give him a hug for me? Thank him for his example. Hold him just a little longer. And for those of you like me, remember your Daddy today. And thank God for the example that he was in your life.

One thought on “Homecoming day

Leave a Reply

