Ministry

Colossians 3:23,24 – “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for The Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from The Lord as a reward. It is The Lord Christ you are serving.”
I have taken a new job – I am an occupational therapist by trade and will be working as they need me at a few nursing homes. I haven’t actually worked yet, but the opportunity is there.
My first official day was Monday. A good friend of mine texted me and said she was praying for me in my new ministry. This is the way she thinks. She sees all opportunities to engage with people as a ministry. It is a beautiful concept.
How would your life change if you deemed every encounter as a ministry opportunity?
My friend has always had this attitude, at least since I have known her. In the past, it was just a job. A chance to earn some extra money for my family. But things are beginning to change somewhat as I learn to see every thing that I do as an opportunity to serve Christ rather than my flesh.
I spoke with her yesterday and she asked how my new ministry was coming. I told her that right now I am in the house painting ministry – serving my family by making our house our home. She giggled at this because she knows that this too is a ministry.
Ministry is partly about serving others. And serving can happen in so many ways – whether you are earning an income along the way or just making things more homey.
Today, see your actions in a different light. Don’t do things for man, but rather do them for Christ. See the changes in your attitude and be grateful that you serve such an awesome God that cares about all things.

2 thoughts on “Ministry

  1. I love it! I ministered today by trying to clean off my desk at home and get a little organized. I am enjoying your Princess Project! Love ya, Aunt Verna

  2. I love this concept! It is very encouraging to view my career change “homemaker” as my ministry. Some days it can be a bit much, but taking on this mindset makes it more purposeful and fulfilling. Thank you so much to you and your friend.

Leave a Reply

