The snake

2 Timothy 1:7 – “For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.”
Let me set the scene for you – I am in the kitchen trying to pull my daughter’s tooth. My son calmly comes in and says,”You need to come with me right now.” I asked why. He said,very calmly, “We have an animal in the house.” Curious, I follow him to his bathroom where he has trapped a snake in his shower. Panic mode engaged!!!
To make a long story short, this 6-8″ pencil-thick snake was the toughest little booger God has ever created. I had to call my pastor to come and help me get rid of the thing. I don’t do snakes in my house. My husband was out of town and I needed some one – He came to my rescue.
After my heart rate returned to normal, I thought about fear. Fear is a very powerful thing in our life. This isn’t the healthy fear, i.e. respect, I spoke of earlier. This is gut wrenching, pee your pants, fear. This is not from God. This is from the devil. He uses this powerful tool to try and convince you that you are not good enough. He wants you to live your life always looking over your shoulder, or in my case, the shower.
God gave us the spirit of power, love and self-discipline. Application: Can I apply this verse to how I should have conquered the snake? It was a tiny snake. I could have overpowered it if I had not been so afraid. I had the love thing down – I love my family enough to protect them from it. What I did not have was self-discipline. I could not get ahold of my emotions long enough to make the catch.
Fear. Fear won yesterday. But it is my prayer that: 1.God will never send another snake into my house and 2.The next time a fear moment arises, that I will remember this verse and face that fear with victory.

One thought on “The snake

  1. I laughed at the picture you just projected….tiny snake in shower…panic….calling the pastor….but it is because we can all identify with that story and the message of truth that comes from it. Thank you for the reminder. In this world you shall have tribulation, but be not afraid…I have overcome the world!

Leave a Reply

