My Journal of Thanks

Philippians 4:8 – “Finally, brothers, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things.”
I need to be more thankful. The devil has a way of taking my thoughts and twisting them into something ugly. This makes me forget how blessed I really am.
Back around Thanksgiving, I posted something about being thankful every day – making it a life style, not just a one day deal. I found this idea online and jumped on it. My Journal of Thanks.
I went to a bookstore and found a paperback journal. I took my daughter’s colored pencils and made the journal my own. It is my goal to write, at least, one thing I am thankful for every day.
This verse in Philippians makes me realize that I need to focus my thoughts on things above rather than on things of the earth.
My challenge for you is to start a thankful journal of your own. Let God focus your thoughts on Him and not on every thing else.

20130102-083010.jpg

One thought on “My Journal of Thanks

  1. Melissa – What an inspired way to give thanks daily for all God blesses us with. When i pray i try to follow the ACTS model, Adoration, Confession, Thanksgiving and Supplication, but I find myself thanking more than anything else. It seems selfish and irresponsible to do anything less. As i discovered, not by surprise, on my mission trip, God has blessed America more than we deserve.

    I think I will try to mimic your thankfulness journal in some way. I pray God richly grows and blesses you this year.

Leave a Reply

