My little gift

James 1:17 – “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.”
Today is my son’s birthday. He is 11 today. When I look back at the last 11 years, I’m like every parent who has come before me – “Where did the time go?”
When I look at him, I see the essence of this verse in James – my good and perfect gift. Do I think my child is perfect and always good? Are you crazy? I’m deluded but not to that point!
My son has taught me so much about life. He has taught me how to love, how to fix problems with a hug, how to imagine life a little more fun and that just scratches the surface.
One thing I know for sure – he is a gift from God, as are all children. God gave us these pure little people to remind us that things don’t have to be so complicated. Sometimes all you need to make the day perfect is a hot wheels car.
So today, princess, hug your gifts a little tighter and remember why god gave then to you.

Leave a Reply

