Everything

I love music. I love the stories it tells, the encouragement it gives me and the smiles it brings to my face.

I spend a lot of time in the car, so I hear a lot of Christian radio. If you are not plugged into a good Christian station, I encourage you to find one.

Yesterday as I was driving to pick up the kids from school, Everything To Me by Avalon came on – oh my, did I cry! That song moves me to tears every time! Just thinking about it makes me tear up!

The song is about accepting Jesus early in life and then learning how He really is everything that you need. I accepted Jesus when I was young. I have grown up in church and have heard just about every story in the Bible (I won’t say that I know it all – Heaven knows I don’t :-).  But it hasn’t been until I reached adulthood that I truly  began to grasp what it means for Jesus to be everything to you.

Jason has been gone a lot for his job the last 2 years. Yes, we talk on the phone almost everyday (Guam is not a local call by the way). But chatting on the phone is not the same as an in-depth conversation. I have learned to rely upon the Lord so much for everything. Looking back on the last 2 years, I can see where so many times Jesus had to carry me through what I was facing. I don’t know how I could have seen those times without Him.

I think about Job. Can you imagine the pain and agony of that man? I whine and moan because my husband is away – Job lost EVERYTHING!!! By the time the day was done, he had no home, no children, no way to earn a living, nothing! And yet, he said –   Job 1:21 – “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away; may the name of the LORD be praised.”

Think about that for a minute, princess. Could you sit in a field and have all these people come up to you and tell you that your children had been killed, your home was destroyed by a fire and you have just lost your job and then say “may the name of the LORD be praised”? Not me. I will admit it. I have not reached that level of spiritual maturity.

Job had his thoughts on bigger and better things. He was thinking ahead.

Job 19:25-27 – “I know that my Redeemer lives, and that in the end he will stand upon the earth. And after my skin has been destroyed, yet in my flesh I will see God; I myself will see him with my own eyes – I, and not another. How my heart yearns within me!”

Look around you, princess. Is Jesus everything to you? Do you yearn for His return? Or do you put things and people ahead of Him? I want to live my life so that when I am at the end of my days and my last breath is coming, I can say “it is well with my soul.”

Leave a Reply

